So close I can taste it…


I waved as a little tear drop rolled down my cheek passing the exit for I-35N toward Minneapolis. We continued on I-80E leaving the first glimpse of Minnesota that we’ve seen in months in the rear view mirror. 

As we visit our loved ones, a question that is frequently asked is, “Don’t you miss home?” The simple answer- Of course I do, but maybe not for the reasons that you may think. Every untraveled road in my life has shown me new things and brought me into uncomfortable situations. This is where I thrive. The parts that make me miss my past residence are also what make me want to go back. The connections that I have made in these places mean more to me than a house, or any other physical possession that I could ever ask for. My people are why I miss home. As I begin the forth month on the road, I can confidently say that I have made a home in many locations around the U.S. and have been building these comforts my entire life. Traveling is in my blood and ‘wanderlust’ has proved that I am not a person that belongs in one spot, but in many places. I could actually live anywhere in the world and make it my home. Don’t get me wrong, one of the first things I will do when I settle into my next place will be bake a batch of cookies and take a long nap in my bed. So, just know that all are welcome into mi casa wherever that may be. 

Cheers to all the people in my life that helped me make every home my own. I will be back to relive good times and make new memories. Much love!

Thank you Tony and Linda for the wonderful hospitality!

Quick note: I will most likely be skipping tomorrow’s post because I will be busy celebrating one of my best friends weddings! Congrats Allie and Matt! Wishing you a lifetime of happiness and physics!

Leave a Reply

