Wide Open Spaces…

   
   
If you are a product of the 90s, you will empathize with me when a song like ‘Wide Open Spaces’ by The Dixie Chicks gets replayed over and over in your mind. And of course you can’t help but sing along because you know ALL of the words. That was my day yesterday. As soon as I stopped holding my breath through the tunnel leading to Yosemite Valley, I couldn’t seem to catch it again. Yosemite Valley is the heart of Yosemite National Park and an acceptable reason to have Dixie Chicks stuck in your head all day. After all, it is the perfect description of ‘a place in the clouds, a foundation of stone.’ We spent the entire day hiking through rock and soil to discover the seven wondrous waterfalls of the park. Early afternoon after our forth water fall sighting, we pulled over for a meal of peanut butter sandwiches and carrot sticks. When we were sitting on the grass overlooking the water rushing past us I took a moment to let it sink in. 

Yosemite was the forth National Park we’ve visited, so I can’t help but compare them to each other. However, the thing is you really can’t. They have there own unique and brilliant qualities of Mother Nature proving once again that she is queen. We live at her grace. Always. 

Yosemite was high on my list of places to see. Now I can say that the unfailing beauty and spectacular views did not disappoint. 

I would highly recommend visiting Yosemite National Park and also taking a trip down memory lane by popping in your old Dixie Chicks cassette (of course, by that I mean to look it up on iTunes). 

Smile and breathe.

2 comments

  1. Hannah Sutter-Balke · April 5, 2016

    Amazing. Can’t wait to visit there someday. LOVE the third photo!

    Like

    • breathesmiletravel · April 5, 2016

      Thanks Hannah! It’s unbelievable! I would definitely put it on your to-do list. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

