Being an artist…

Creative. Bold. Unique. Chic.

Whether you express yourself with painting, photography, music, fashion, cooking, etc. you are an artist. If you ask Webster on his definition an artist it is “one who professes and practices an imaginative art.” If you ask me, an artist is simple and ubiquitous.

A couple years ago, I would have never considered “artistic” as one of my defining qualities. But I think the truth was, I just never knew what to call it. “It” meaning me. When I came home from middle school with tears rushing down my face resulting from being the butt of the cool kids jokes I wrote poetry. Fights with my mother turned into dancing in the back yard with the yard lights shining as my spotlight. Today, my emotion is portrayed through painting. Every one of my paintings has a meaning and every meaning has a story behind it.  Some are dark and deep and some are bright and cheery, just like the days of life.

I wouldn’t change any of the challenging, rough, timid, inspiring, proud moments in my life because it’s my story. Without each of those times I would not be able to express who I am. And without being an artist I wouldn’t have been able to cope and move forward. So, cheers to all people that consider art as a piece of them and to those that haven’t discovered themselves yet.

If you have any questions or stories about becoming an artist please comment below or check out my painting group on Facebook: Smock Me.

Tomorrow we’re heading to Santa Fe!

 

Leave a Reply

